Alicia Keys Covers Complex Magazine: Dishes On A ‘Brand New Her’ and Frank Ocean

Complex Magazine

If you listen to Alicia Keys ballads today, you can truly understand her journey. The once subtle, braid-wearing songstress has stepped from behind the piano and is now declaring herself as a Girl on Fire!

With a new album debuting on the 27th of this month, Alicia Keys gracefully covers Complex Magazine and discusses the inspiration behind Girl on Fire and Frank Ocean’s courage.

Alicia Keys may be surrounded with flames now, but life wasn’t always like that for her!

“Before making this record, in some ways I felt like a lion locked in a cage,” said Alicia. “I felt like a girl misunderstood that no one really knew. I felt like it was time to stop making excuses for any part of my life that I wanted to change. Once I made that choice I became a girl on fire, the lion broke free!”

Alicia is at point in her life where she can truly embrace the Element of Freedom. The once guarded singer is now eager to let the world hear her roar.

Complex Magazine

“It’s not a departure,” Alicia explains. “It’s growth. I love the way that I’ve been able to go deeper into my lyrics and my songwriting and go to a place I was too afraid to access before.”

Alicia Keys is proud of the woman she has become, and that’s why she is fond of artists like Frank Ocean. She says she is inspired by anyone that can be comfortable enough with themselves even when the world may not be.

That was super brave and I’m so glad that he wrote it,” said Alicia referring to the letter Frank Ocean wrote about his sexuality. “He is the voice for so many people. We’re all boxed in to these stupid things that we’re taught is the way we’re supposed to be and it’s so ridiculous…Thank God that we have come to this place where we can actually know and be more open to the fact that people come in all different ways. And that’s great because it’s a very boring world otherwise.”

Alicia Keys inspires us all to be Girls on Fire and that’s why she is Everything Girls Love!

By: Ericka Smith (@ErickaLovesPR)

Leave a comment